Basketball New Zealand Awards

The Basketball New Zealand Awards (BBNZ Awards) are an annual event that appropriately acknowledge members of our basketball community who have given tirelessly to our sport. 

The 2019 Basketball New Zealand Awards evening will be held on Friday 17 May at the Musuem of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Te Marae . 

A full review of the BBNZ Award structure was undertaken in 2015 and approved by the BBNZ Board. The award structure is tier-based and has four tiers. 

They are:
Tier 1: Legends (first to be awarded in 2017)
Tier 2: BBNZ Hall of Fame (first to be awarded in 2016) and exceptional services to basketball awards
Tier 3: Annual awards for service and those currently involved in the game
Tier 4: Long Service and Life Membership 

Who are the Awards Selection Committee?
The Awards Selection Committee is made up of the following members:
Hilary Carr - New Zealand Basketball Foundation
Bill Eldred - New Zealand Basketball Foundation
Paul Stigley -  New Zealand Basketball Foundation
David Huxford - Basketball New Zealand (process and compliance only)