2017 Junior Secondary Schools Champions Crowned

2017 Junior Secondary Schools Champions Crowned

The 2017 Junior Secondary Schools Premiership Tournaments concluded on Tuesday after four days of intense competition. With a total of 128 teams competing across 3 tournaments, over a thousand year nine and ten students battled it out.

Junior Zone 1 & 2 (Northern and Mid North Schools)
St Johns College (Hamilton) pulled off a rare double winning both the Zone 1 and 2 Boys Premier and A Grade titles at the Bruce Pulman Arena in Papakura.

In the boys Premier final St John’s A proved too good for Mt Albert Grammar winning 75-63 whilst Rotorua Boys High defeated Tauranga Boys College 75-60 to claim third place.

In the A Grade tournament both the grand final and third/fourth playoff were two possession affairs. St Johns B beat Massey High 74-69 and Waiuku College squeezed past Hamilton’s Nga Taiatea Wharekura 83-79.

The Girls champions are St Mary’s College Ponsonby after they narrowly defeated Rotorua Girls High School 55-51 in the final. Hamilton Girls High claimed third place with a comfortable 69-51 win against Massey High.

Junior Zone 3 (Central and Capital Schools)
In New Plymouth, Napier Boys High claimed the Zone 3 Boys Championship beating Scots College 99-79. There was also a twenty points margin in the third/fourth place game as Palmerston North Boys High beat New Plymouth Boys High 74-54.

In a thrilling encounter the Girls title was secured by Wellington East Girls College after they squeezed home 76-74 against New Plymouth Girls High. Napier Girls High claimed third place with a 58-50 victory against Sacred Heart Girls College, New Plymouth who had to settle for fourth.

Junior Zone 4 (all South Island Schools)
Two Otago teams featured in the Junior zone 4 premierships grand finals held in Ashburton at EA Networks Centre. 

Waimea College were convincing winners of the Zone 4 Boys title defeating Otago Boys High 79-60 to claim the title of South Island Champs. Waitaki Boys High eased home to secure third winning 100-45 against St Thomas of Canterbury College.

Kavanagh College won the Girls Championship defeating Otago Girls High 59-51 in the final. Hosts Ashburton College claimed third with a convincing 79-59 win against Timaru Girls High.

All Junior Premiership Final Placings
Online Draw and Results