Basketball’s national growth extends to shortened format

Basketball’s national growth extends to shortened format

Basketball has continued its growth in New Zealand with a record number of entries to this year’s  Secondary School 3x3 championships.  

Close to 600 players will take to Trustpower Arena in Mount Maunganui, competing in a  three-day event (March 27-29) in the pursuit of national glory. 

Team entries have shot up 22% from last year’s numbers, with 128 teams, 17 of these travelling from the South Island, from 52 different schools participating across their respective grades.

The tournament caters to two different age groups across both genders, junior and senior, and two different playing levels, open and elite.

Headlining the entries to this year’s champs are St Peter’s School of Cambridge, led by Tall Fern Charlisse Leger Walker. The current Schick Championship AA Girls National Champions and Secondary Schools 3x3 Champions look to extend their dominance in the game’s shortened format, in what shapes to be the most highly contested grade at the event.

The 3 point shootout and dunk contest returns in 2019 and will showcase the marksmanship and explosive athleticism on-hand. Last year’s Dunk Contest winner Shalom Broughton is competing for Saint Kentigern College in the senior elite grade and should be keen to retain his title as the competition’s highest flyer.  

National coaches Joshua Thompson (U18 3x3 men's coach) and Anthony Corban (3x3 women’s coach) will also be in attendance, keeping a watchful eye on the country’s next generation of talent. With 3x3 now an Olympic sport, players will appreciate the opportunity to be under the gaze of national selectors.

Sponsor Mai FM is on-site on Friday 29 March, providing hydration stations and interactive competitions for participants and onlookers.

Entrance to the 3x3 Secondary School Championships is free and open for public attendance, with gameplay starting at 9am on Wednesday March 27. Playoffs take place on Friday March 29 and will close with an awards ceremony at approximately 5:30pm. 

Extended information on the tournament, draw, rosters and health and safety can be found here.