Schick Championships Qualifiers tip-off around the country today

Schick Championships Qualifiers tip-off around the country today

The Schick Premierships have tipped off today around the country, as secondary school teams compete for qualification at the ‘AA’ and ‘A’ Schick Championships, to be held 1-6 October at the Central Energy Trusts Arena.

The ‘A’ tournament is for schools that have a roll of less than 600 pupils for co-ed schools or less than 300 for single sex schools. The ‘AA’ tournament is for schools with school roles over those figures.

Here’s a quick look at the ‘AA’ events:

Zone 1 at North Shore Events Centre

Zone 1 Boys

It would be a brave man that would bet against Rosmini College, the reigning Schick National Champions, making it through the Premierships along with Mt Albert Grammar School. 

Auckland Grammar are another strong contender, as are perennial powerhouse Westlake Boys the match up between the two in Pool D will be a cracker.

There are a number of other teams that will vie for the seven qualifying places available including Rangitoto College the 2015 and 2016 Schick National Champions and Senior A high flyers Macleans College.

Whangarei Boys High will be flying the flag for Northland.

Zone 1 Girls

Auckland Girls Grammar School, having only lost two games in the Auckland Schools competition in the past two seasons, are probably favourites to win a second straight Zone 1 Premiership.

However Mt Albert Grammar, who recently beat AGGS in the Auckland Premier Final, along with regular season runners-up Westlake Girls will be looking to undermine that favoritism tag.

Rangitoto College will be buoyed by their strong showing in their Auckland Premier semi-final loss to AGGS recently. Massey High shape as another likely qualifier, while Epsom Girls Grammar looks the most likely team to challenge from outside of the Auckland Premier division.

Zone 2 in Rotorua

Zone 2 Boys

The Zone 2 Boys Tournament is picked by many to be exceedingly tight with little to choose between Hamilton Boys High, St John’s College and Rotorua Boys High School.

Fraser High, National Champions in 2010 shape as another contender whilst the strongest challenges from ‘The Bay’ will come from Tauranga Boys College. 

Zone 2 Girls

It is hard to go past St Peter’s School, Cambridge when looking for a favourite in the Girls Tournament. After all they won the Schick National Championships in 2015 and 2016 and were runners-up last year.

Their stiffest opposition is likely to come from Hamilton Girls High and Rotorua Girls High - both top four finishers at Premierships in 2017, with Fraser High shaping as the dark horse in this zone.

The prime contender from the east is likely to come from Tauranga Girls College.

Zone 3 in Palmerston North.

Zone 3 Boys

Napier Boys beat Palmerston North Boys High in the round robin of Super 8 although PNBH exacted revenge in the Final. 

Those two teams will be strong contenders in Zone 3 as will Rongotai College after their recent success in winning the Wellington title.

St Patrick's Wellington, runners-up to Rongotai, are looking to qualify after missing out on Nationals in 2017 whilst other top four finishers in the Pohlen Cup in Wellington, Scots College and Wellington College will also be very competitive. 

New Plymouth Boys High are invariably in the mix and also look out for Hastings Boys High - the two schools lock horns in Pool C.

Zone 3 Girls

Hutt Valley High have been impressive in winning the Wellington competition this year and runners-up Queen Margaret College, buoyed by the addition of some New Zealand age-group players to their squad, will be confident of qualifying.

Expect Wellington Girls College and Wellington East College to be contenders too. 

Outside of Wellington, Napier Girls will be looking to make a splash as will Sacred Heart New Plymouth who possesses an array of Taranaki representative players that won U17 Nationals earlier in the year. Palmerston North Girls should also be very competitive.

Zone 4 in Invercargill.

Zone 4 Boys

Cashmere High, the Canterbury Schools Champions, appear to be the team to beat this year in Zone 4.

Further down the South Island Waitaki Boys have been making a good showing of it in the Otago Schools competition and they look to be the strongest challengers to Cashmere in Pool C. 

Pool A of Christ's College, St Andrews College and Christchurch Boys High along with Kings and Otago Boys' of Dunedin will be battling it out with all five contenders for a quarter final spot.
Also expect Shirley Boys High, Middleton Grange and Rangiora High to continue the good showings they have made in the Canterbury competition this year.
Zone 4 Girls

Zone 4 boasts the largest number of entries (17) and with just the six teams progressing competition will be fierce.

The Christchurch Girls v Rangi Ruru match up in Pool C will be eagerly anticipated but with Kaipoi High also in the pool it means one of the top four teams in the Canterbury competition will be eliminated.

St Andrew's, the Canterbury Schools Champions, look as if they will have it largely their own way in Pool D whilst Middleton Grange will be looking to top Pool B.

From further south expect St Hilda's to make a good showing with Otago Girls something of a dark horse in Pool B.

‘A’ SCHICK Premierships

The A Qualifiers will be played simultaneously with Qualifying Tournaments being played in Buller, Marlborough and New Plymouth.

For the ‘A’ competition, Stratford High School, the defending Schick A National Boys Champions will be looking for a strong showing at the North Island Premierships in New Plymouth. On the girls’ side of the event, Opunake High School will be looking to do the same as they strive to qualify and the opportunity to make it an A National Championship three-peat.


Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: New Plymouth
Host:  New Plymouth Basketball
Venue:  TSB Stadium

Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: Blenheim
Host: Marlborough Basketball
Venue: Stadium 2000

Tournament Dates: September 6-8, 2018
City: Westport
Host: Buller Basketball
Venue: Pulse Energy Recreation Centre

Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: Auckland (North Shore)
Host: Harbour Basketball
Venue: North Shore Events Center & AUT North Shore

Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: Rotorua
Host: Rotorua Basketball
Venue: Energy Events Centre

Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: Palmerston North
Host: Basketball Manawatu
Venue: Central Energy Trusts Manawatu 

Tournament Dates: September 5-8, 2018
City: Invercargill
Host: Southland Basketball
Venue: ILT Stadium Southland


Tournament Dates: October 1-4, 2018
City: Palmerston North
Host: Basketball Manawatu
Venue: Central Energy Trusts Arena

Tournament Dates: October 1-6, 2018
City: Palmerston North
Host: Basketball Manawatu
Venue: Central Energy Trusts Arena

For more go to and Basketball New Zealand’s social media channels: @BasketballNZ FacebookTwitterInstagram.