Semi-Finalists found at Aon Under 19 National Championships

Semi-Finalists found at Aon Under 19 National Championships

The Men’s semi-finalists have been found at the Aon Under 19 National Basketball Championships being held at the North Shore Events Centre. 

Defending champions Waitaha Canterbury Red will take on Wellington on Monday and in the other semi-final Harbour will meet Manawatu.

In an exciting finish 2017 finalists Auckland were pipped at the post by Wellington – a three point shot from Haven Dixon separating the two teams with just eight seconds to play.

The two teams traded baskets throughout with rarely more than three points between them. Wellington shaded the first period 15-12 but it was all tied up at half-time (43-43). The scores remained close with the men from the capital ahead 61-60 at the three-quarter mark.

A Marvin Williams-Dunn triple in the final minute tied the scores at 80 points apiece and with overtime looming it was Dixon that landed the decisive blow in the game of the day.

Auckland 80 – A Rissetto 23, T Whyte 20, Williams-Dunn 14
Wellington 83 – A Tai-Jones 24, H Dixon 11

Title holders Waitaha Canterbury Red proved too strong for Waikato winning 98-60.
Max de Geest (30 points) made eight of the Cantabs eleven first half threes as they opened a 51-31 half-time advantage.

The hot hands cooled in the second period but Canterbury were still able to stretch out to a convincing win. Maxim Stephens (16 points) was the best for Waikato.

Waitaha Canterbury Red 98 – M de Geest 30, M Darling 25, C McLaughlin 18
Waikato 60 – M Stephens 16, C Marsters 11, C Mason 9

Manawatu dominated the early proceedings against Hutt/Porirua to open up a 60-37 lead at the interval. The early ascendancy continued as Manawatu, led by Tama Faamausili rounded out an emphatic115-80 win.

Manawatu 115 – T Faamausili 27, J Collis 19, K Muru 16, 
Hutt Valley/ Porirua 80 – S Gold 22, J Bunker 19, J McGregor 11

Watakere West led a close opening quarter (18-17) against Harbour A but despite 17 points in the half from Kennedy Nikolaison (17 points) trailed 46-40 at half-time.
Harbour dominated the third stanza courtesy of a combined 15 points from Kruz Perrott-Hunt (24 points) and Sam Mennenga (25 points) to pull ahead 70-48.
Harbour had little trouble protecting their advantage winning 89-61. The hard working Kale Lawson (26 points) led all scorers.

Harbour A 89 – S Mennenga 25, K Perrott-Hunt 24, P Jenkins 17
Waitakere West 61 – L Lawson 26, K Nikolaison 17, 

U19 Men’s Pools – bracketed numbers are win/loss results:
• Pool A – Waitaha Canterbury Red (3-0), Hutt/Porirua (2-1), Tasman (1-2), Waikato Country (0-3),
• Pool B – Harbour A (3-0), Wellington (2-1), Tauranga (1-2), Taranaki (0-3)
• Pool C – Manawatu (3-0), Waikato (2-1), Otago (1-2), Auckland B (0-3)
• Pool D – Auckland (3-0), Waitakere West 2-1), Waitaha Canterbury Black (1-2), Harbour B (0-3)

Aon Under 19 Women’s National Championship
The Aon Under Women’s championship is being played under a slightly different format with two pools of six teams. The top two teams in each pool progressing directly to the semi-finals.
With one round of games still to be completed on Monday morning Waikato’s title defence remains on track as they boast a 4-0 record in Pool A.
Taranaki will join the defending champions in the final four after a 70-68 overtime victory against Wellington.

In Pool B Harbour A are on course for top seeding after remaining unbeaten through the first four rounds of competition. In contention for second place in the pool are Waitaha Canterbury Red (3-1) and Waitakere West. The two teams have an identical 3 win, 1 loss record and will play each other early on Monday – the winner heads to the semi’s.
Aon U19s Women’s Pools:
• Pool A – Waikato (4-0), Taranaki (4-0), Wellington (2-2), Auckland Counties Manukau (1-3), Waitaha Canterbury Black (1-3), Gisborne (0-3)
• Pool B – Harbour A (4-0), Waitaha Canterbury Red (3-1), Waitakere West (3-1), Tauranga (1-3), Southern Zone (1-3), Harbour B (0-4)


Ten games will be livestreamed on the last two days of the event, including all Semi Finals and the Grand Finals, 4 and 5 June on www.NZ.baskeball/TV and @BasketballNZ Facebook

4 June Livestream:

• 10:45am - Waikato v Auckland A (Men’s 5-8 SF1)
• 12:30pm - Waitaha Canterbury Red v Wellington (Men’s Semi-Final 1)
• 2:15pm - Harbour A v Manawatu (Men’s Semi Final 2)
• 4pm - 1st Pool B v 2nd Pool A (Women’s Semi Final 2)
• 5:45pm - 1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B (Women’s Semi-Final 1)

5 June Livestream:

• 9am - Men’s 5th and 6th Playoff
• 10:45am - Women’s 3rd and 4th Playoff
• 12:30pm - Men’s 3rd and 4th Playoff
• 3pm - Women’s Grand Final
• 4:45pm  Men’s Grand Final

Draws, Programme, Rosters can be found here: 

FIBA Livestats: 

For more information go to and the @BasketballNZ social media channels: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram